Friday, September 10, 2010

Call for Papers: American Politics Conference, Oxford University

APG Annual Conference 2011: Call for papers
American Politics Group Annual Conference

6th - 8th January 2011

Rothermere American Institute and St Anne's College, Oxford

NOTE:  I recommend this highly.  Every event I've participated in at the Rothermere American Institute has been excellent.

CALL FOR PAPERS : Deadline 17 September 2010

The American Politics Group (APG) invites proposals for papers to be given at its 2011 Annual Conference at The Rothermere American Institute and St Anne's College, Oxford, from January 6th to 8th, 2011.

The APG conference is the United Kingdom's major annual meeting of professional scholars of US politics.

Papers for this conference are invited on any topic relating to US politics.  Proposals are especially welcomed on subjects pertaining to the theme chosen by Lou Fisher, this year's distinguished speaker, for his plenary address: Presidential Power: Real and Imaginary.  Why Do Social Scientists (and the Public) Prefer the Latter? Accordingly, the APG especially welcomes papers addressing questions on theory and reality in American political institutions including the Presidency, Congress, national parties and electoral politics, state and local politics, public policy, foreign policy, political and socio-political questions, political history, and American Political Development.

Paper submissions are welcomed from graduate students as well as academic staff and on works in progress. Please send a synopsis of your proposal (maximum one side of A4) and brief c.v. (maximum two sides) to Dr Nigel Bowles ( nigel.bowles "at" ), conference convenor, by September 17, 2010. A panel of APG will decide which submissions will be accepted for discussion at the conference.

The APG awards the Richard E. Neustadt Paper Prize to the best paper in the field of US government and politics presented by a postgraduate student at the conference. The prize is worth £100 and is open to postgraduate students registered at UK universities and to papers authored singularly and jointly by postgraduates. Papers co-authored with established academic staff are not eligible. Papers authored by postgraduates who have a permanent academic post or are in a tenure-track post are not eligible. To be eligible for the prize, postgraduates must submit an electronic copy of their paper to Dr Andrew Wroe ( a.j.wroe "at" ), chair of the prize committee, no later than 24 December 2010. The quality of the written paper will be the primary determining factor in the committee's decision. The winner will be announced at lunch on the final day of the conference.