Monday, December 4, 2017

CFP: Pacific Coast Branch of the AHA

[We’ve received the following announcement.]

111th Annual Meeting of the Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association
August 2-4, 2018, Santa Clara University, Santa Clara CA


The PCB serves all AHA members residing and working in the twenty-two states west of the Mississippi and the four western provinces of Canada. Our annual meeting brings together historians of all spatial, temporal, and thematic specializations.

The 2018 Program Committee invites proposals for panels, papers, and roundtables on any subject but particularly welcomes proposals that address the theme:  The Historian's Scholarly and Public Roles. In light of today's roiling debates over the meanings of the past, it is critical that historians explore how we can speak to broad audiences; share our critical methods; illuminate questions of context and interpretation; & guide discussions of policy, representation, and commemoration.

We encourage proposals that enable conversation across specialist boundaries and engage the audience. We welcome submissions from graduate students and K-12 teachers.  

Anniversaries that may provide inspiration include the Meiji Restoration and founding of the University of California (1868); the abolition of slavery in Brazil (1888); the end of WWI (1918); the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (1948); the many transformative events of 1968; the financial crisis and election of Barack Obama (2008).

To make inquiries, submit proposals, find prospective co-panelists and more details (on the venue, registration, lodgings), please visit here.

Proposals must include a contact person; a title and 250-word abstract of the panel, paper, or roundtable; the title and brief description of each presentation; a one-page C.V. (including the email address and affiliation) of each participant; and any AV requests.

Deadline for submitting proposals: January 8, 2018.  Decisions about acceptance will be conveyed by March 10, 2018.

Please note that submission of a proposal constitutes a commitment to attend the conference if the proposal is accepted. Graduate student presenters will receive information about travel subventions.

2018 Program Committee Co-Chairs:
Matthew Mason, Brigham Young University
Daniel McInerney, Utah State University