Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Oxford Handbook of the Indian Constitution

The Oxford Handbook of the Indian Constitution (ed. Sujit Choudhry, Madhav Khosla, and Pratap Bhanu Mehta) is just out. From the publisher:
CoverThe Indian Constitution is one of the world's longest and most important political texts. Its birth, over six decades ago, signalled the arrival of the first major post-colonial constitution and the world's largest and arguably most daring democratic experiment. Apart from greater domestic focus on the Constitution and the institutional role of the Supreme Court within India's democratic framework, recent years have also witnessed enormous comparative interest in India's constitutional experiment.  
The Oxford Handbook of the Indian Constitution is a wide-ranging, analytical reflection on the major themes and debates that surround India's Constitution. The Handbook provides a comprehensive account of the developments and doctrinal features of India's Constitution, as well as articulating frameworks and methodological approaches through which studies of Indian constitutionalism, and constitutionalism more generally, might proceed. Its contributions range from rigorous, legal studies of provisions within the text to reflections upon historical trends and social practices. As such the Handbook is an essential reference point not merely for Indian and comparative constitutional scholars, but for students of Indian democracy more generally.
This volume covers a dizzying array of topics, with a section on legal history. Here is the Table of Contents: 

1: Sujit Choudhry, Madhav Khosla, and Pratap Bhanu Mehta: Locating Indian Constitutionalism

Part I: History
2: Rohit De: Constitutional Antecedents
3: Uday S. Mehta: Indian Constitutionalism: Crisis, Unity, and History
4: Hanna Lerner: The Indian Founding: A Comparative Perspective

Part II: Negotiating Constitutionalism
5: Chintan Chandrachud: Constitutional Interpretation
6: Upendra Baxi: Law, Politics, and Constitutional Hegemony: The Supreme Court, Jurisprudence, and Demosprudence
7: Gary Jacobsohn: Constitutional Identity
8: Shruti Rajagopalan: Constitutional Change: A Public Choice Analysis
9: Lavanya Rajamani: International Law and the Constitutional Schema

Part III: Constituting Democracy
10: Niraja Gopal Jayal: Citizenship
11: Sujit Choudhry: Language
12: Aditya Sondhi: Elections
13: Rahul Sagar: Emergency Powers
14: Madhav Khosla: Constitutional Amendment

Part IV: Separation of Powers
15: Justice (retd.) Ruma Pal: Separation of Powers
16: M. R. Madhavan: Legislature: Composition, Qualifications, and Disqualifications
17: Sidharth Chauhan: Legislature: Privileges and Process
18: Shubhankar Dam: Executive
19: Nick Robinson: Judicial Architecture and Capacity
20: Justice (retd.) B. N. Srikrishna: Judicial Independence
21: Raeesa Vakil: Jurisdiction
22: T. V. Somanathan: The Administrative and Regulatory State
23: Arun K. Thiruvengadam: Tribunals
24: Prateek Jalan and Ritin Rai: Review of Administrative Action

Part V: Federalism
25: Mahendra Pal Singh: The Federal Scheme
26: V. Niranjan: Legislative Competence: The Union and the States
27: Arvind Datar: Inter-State Trade and Commerce
28: Harish Salve: Inter-State River Water Disputes
29: Nirvikar Singh: Fiscal Federalism
30: Louise Tillin: Asymmetric Federalism
31: K. C. Sivaramakrishnan: Local Government

Part VI: Rights - Structures and Scope
32: Ananth Padmanabhan: Rights: Breadth, Scope, and Applicability
33: Stephen Gardbaum: Horizontal Effect
34: Gopal Subramanium: Writs and Remedies
35: Surya Deva: Savings Clauses: The Ninth Schedule and Articles 31A-C
36: Gautam Bhatia: Directive Principles of State Policy
37: Shyam Divan: Public Interest Litigation
38: Shyam Balganesh: The Constitutionalization of Indian Private Law

Part VII: Rights - Substance and Content
39: Tarunabh Khaitan: Equality: Legislative Review under Article 14
40: Vinay Sitapati: Reservations
41: Ratna Kapur: Gender Equality
42: Anup Surendranath: Life and Personal Liberty
43: Abhinav Chandrachud: Due Process
44: Aparna Chandra and Mrinal Satish: Criminal Law and the Constitution
45: Lawrence Liang: Speech and Expression
46: Menaka Guruswamy: Assembly and Association
47: Anirudh Burman: Movement and Residence
48: Vikramaditya Khanna: Profession, Occupation, Trade, and Business
79: Ronojoy Sen: Secularism and Religious Freedom
50: Flavia Agnes: Personal Laws
51: K. Vivek Reddy: Minority Educational Institutions
52: Namita Wahi: Property

Part VIII: The Government's Legal Personality53: V. Umakanth: Government Contracts
54: Neel Maitra: Sovereign Immunity
55: Raju Ramachandran: Public Employment and Service Law


56: Mark Tushnet: The Indian Constitution Seen from Outside 

More information is available here.