Thursday, March 15, 2012

Tomiko Brown-Nagin wins the Bancroft!

photo credit
We are very proud to announce this great news via the New York Times:
The Bancroft Prize, one of the most prestigious annual honors for historians, has been awarded to three scholars for books published last year.

The winners are Anne F. Hyde for Empires, Nations and Families: A History of the North American West, 1800-1860 (University of Nebraska Press); Daniel T. Rodgers for Age of Fracture,” an intellectual history of 1970s and 80s America (Belknap Press/Harvard University Press); and Tomiko Brown-Nagin for Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement (Oxford University Press).

The prize, which was established in 1948 by the trustees of Columbia University and named for the 19th-century American historian George Bancroft, includes a $10,000 award.
Readers of course know Tomiko well from her thoughtful posts, including the current series of Q&A with Ted White.  We posted about the Courage to Dissent here and here, and Tomiko's own book-related posts are here, here and here.  Congratulations to Tomiko!

Update: UVa's press release is here, HLS's is here