Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Call for Submissions: Liberty Legacy Foundation Award

Via H-Law, we have the following call for submissions:
Inspired by OAH President Darlene Clark Hine’s call in her 2002 OAH presidential address for more research on the origins of the civil rights movement in the period before 1954, the Liberty Legacy Foundation Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle from the beginnings of the nation to the present.
Each entry must be published during the period January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013.
The award will be presented at the 2014 OAH Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, April 10–13.
Submission Procedures
One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2014 Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Entry,” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by October 1, 2013.
Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after October 1, 2013 and before January 1, 2014. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2014. 

The announcement continues:

The final decision will be made by the Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Committee by February 2014. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where s/he will receive a cash award and a plaque.
Liberty Legacy Foundation Award Committee
Heather Ann Thompson (Committee Chair)
Temple University
10th Floor, Gladfelter Hall
1115 Polett Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19122-6089
Martha Biondi
Department of African American Studies
Northwestern University
1860 Campus Drive, 5th Floor
Evanston, IL 60208
Tomiko Brown-Nagin
Harvard University
Griswold 304
1563 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138