Tuesday, March 15, 2016

The John Phillip Reid Book Award

[We have the following announcement of the John Phillip Reid Book Award of the American Society for Legal History.]

Named for John Phillip Reid, the prolific legal historian and founding member of the Society, and made possible by the generous contributions of his friends and colleagues, the John Phillip Reid Book Award is an annual award for the best monograph by a mid-career or senior scholar, published in English in any of the fields defined broadly as Anglo-American legal history.  The award is given on the recommendation of the Society’s Committee on the John Phillip Reid Book Award.  [First books, written wholly or primarily while the author was untenured, should be sent to the Cromwell Book Prize committee of the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation.  The Reid Award and the Cromwell Book Prize are mutually exclusive.]

For the 2016 prize, the Reid Award Committee will accept nominations from authors, presses, or anyone else, of any book that bears a copyright date in 2015. Nominations for the Reid Award should be submitted by June 15, 2016, by sending a curriculum vitae of the author and one copy of the book to each member of the committee:

Professor Richard J. Ross [chair]
University of Illinois College of Law
504 E. Pennsylvania Avenue
Champaign, IL 61820

Professor Deborah Dinner
Emory University School of Law
1301 Clifton Road
Atlanta, Georgia 30322

Catherine Fisk
Chancellor's Professor of Law
University of California, Irvine
Law Building 3500E
401 E. Peltason Drive
Irvine, CA  92697-8000

Professor Nicholas Parrillo
Yale Law School
127 Wall Street
New Haven, CT 06511

Professor Brad Snyder
400 Third Street, SE
Washington, D.C. 20003