Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Burbank, Gordon-Reed, Palmer Elected as ASLH Honorary Fellows

Via the American Society of Legal History, we have the following brief report, regarding the Honorary Fellows elected to the Society this year:
Election as an Honorary Fellow “recognizes distinguished historians whose scholarship has shaped the broad discipline of legal history and influenced the work of others.  Honorary Fellows are the scholars we admire, whom we aspire to emulate, and on whose shoulders we stand.” 
 2018 recipients: Jane Burbank, Collegiate Professor and Professor of History and Russian and Slavic Studies at New York University; Annette Gordon-Reed, Charles Warren Professor of American Legal History at Harvard Law School and Professor of History in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University; and Robert C. Palmer, Professor of History and Law at the University of Houston.
Members of this year's Honors Committee were Bruce H. Mann (Harvard University) (chair); Constance Backhouse (University of Ottawa); and Lauren Benton (Vanderbilt University), and Michael Grossberg (Indiana University).