Friday, November 6, 2009

SHFG Prizes

[Here's an announcement from the Society for History in the Federal Government:]

The Society for History in the Federal Government awards two prizes each year for outstanding scholarship in a published article or essay related to the history of the federal government. We are inviting submissions for the 2010 prizes, for articles or essays published during calendar year 2009. (The deadline for submissions is December 1, 2009.)

1. The James Madison This annual award is given for excellence in an article or essay that deals with any aspect of the federal government's history.

2. The Charles Thomson Prize is awarded for the best article or essay on a topic in federal history. The nominated article or essay must have been prepared by a federal historian or for a federal history program, including history offices in the federal agencies and history- related programs in other federal entities.

An entry for either prize should consist of a copy of the published article and a letter indicating the significance and merits of the article (a cover letter from the journal's editor is preferred, although a letter from the author is acceptable). For articles published late in the year, the Committee will accept photocopies of the galleys in lieu of the final published article. A copy of the submission should be sent separately to each of three members of the Prize Committee:

Larry DeWitt, Social Security Administration Historian's Office, Rm. 1532 OPS, Baltimore, MD. 21235. (

Michele Lyons, 875 Hunting Lake Drive, Huntingtown, MD 20639 (

Darrell Lemke, 9207 Chanute Drive, Bethesda, MD, 20814 lemke

The Madison Prize commemorates the nation's fourth President and the principal author of The Federalist Papers. The Thomson prize commemorates the nation's first federal archivist. Both prizes are awarded at the Society's annual conference in February.