Thursday, November 13, 2014

Call for Nominations: ASLH Honorary Fellows

[We have the following announcement.]

The ASLH Honors Committee invites members of the Society to submit the names of persons appropriate for election as Honorary Fellows.  Eligible nominees include all those who should be celebrated for their scholarship in legal history and contribution to the field, whatever their affiliation and wherever in the world they are situated.    In the words of the Society's website, “[e]lection as an Honorary Fellow of the American Society for Legal History is the highest honor the Society can confer.  It recognizes distinguished historians whose scholarship has shaped the broad discipline of legal history and influenced the work of others.  Honorary Fellows are the scholars we admire, whom we aspire to emulate, and on whose shoulders we stand.”

Names should be accompanied by brief (c. 200 word) statements of support.  Nominations by members should be submitted confidentially to the Chair of the Honors Committee, Laura Kalman,, no later than December 15.

The Honors Committee will consider all member nominations, along with those made by committee members.  After deliberating, the committee will prepare and submit up to three fully documented recommendations for approval by the Board of Directors during the summer months.  Elected fellows will be inducted at the Society's annual meeting.

Constance Backhouse
Robert Gordon
Kenneth Ledford
Bruce Mann
Laura Kalman, Chair