Thursday, April 15, 2010

Guggenheims Announced, and Legal Historians Get Some!

This year's recipients of John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships have been announced, here. Among the winners are Lea VanderVelde, the Josephine Witte Professor of Law, University of Iowa College of Law, for "Slavery and Freedom in the Law of the American Frontier, 1818-57"; James Q. Whitman, the Ford Foundation Professor of Comparative and Foreign Law, Yale University, for "The Verdict of Battle"; and John Fabian Witt, the Allen H. Duffy Class of 1960 Professor of Law and Professor of History, Yale Law School, for "The Laws of War in American History." Congratulations!

Hat tip: Tenured Radical, who lists the historians (including Walter Johnson, the Winthrop Professor of History and Professor of African and African American Studies, Harvard University, for "Slavery, Capitalism, and Imperialism in the Mississippi Valley’s Cotton Kingdom").