Thursday, June 12, 2014

Deadline Approaching: Cromwell Dissertation Prize for 2014

[We are moving this announcement up because the deadline is approaching.  Recent disserators, please don't be bashful about submitting, or contacting Professor Fritz if you have any questions.]

Cromwell Dissertation Prize for 2014

The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation has generously funded a dissertation prize of $2,500. The winning dissertation may focus on any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies, but topics dealing with the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference. Anyone who received a Ph.D. in 2013 will be eligible for this year’s prize. The Foundation awards the prize after a review of the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History. To be considered for this year’s prize, please send one hard-copy to each of the following members of the subcommittee for the dissertation prize by June 30, 2014.

Cromwell Dissertation Prize Advisory Subcommittee
John D. Gordan, III
Chair, Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee
1133 Park Avenue New York, NY, 10128

Christian G. Fritz
Chair, Cromwell Dissertation Prize Advisory Subcommittee
Emeritus Professor of Law
University of New Mexico School of Law
8355 Kent Court El Cerrito, CA 94530

Alison LaCroix
Professor of Law
University of Chicago Law School
1111 East 60th Street Chicago, IL 60637

Catharine MacMillan
Professor of Law and Legal History
School of Law
University of Reading
Foxhill House
Whiteknight’s Road
Earley, Reading
United Kingdom

Christopher W. Schmidt Professor of Law Chicago-Kent College of Law 565 W. Adams St., Room 755 Chicago, IL 60661