Monday, April 27, 2015

Call for Submissions: Cromwell Dissertation Prize 2015

[We have the following announcement.]

American Society for Legal History Cromwell Dissertation Prize for 2015

The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation has generously funded a dissertation prize of $5,000. The winning dissertation may focus on any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies; topics dealing with the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference. Anyone who received a Ph.D. in 2014 will be eligible for this year’s prize. The Foundation awards the prize after a review of the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History.

To be considered for this year’s prize, please send one hard-copy of the dissertation and the curriculum vitae of its author to John D. Gordan, III, Chair of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee, and each member of the Cromwell Dissertation Prize Advisory Subcommittee with a postmark no later than May 30, 2015.

John D. Gordan, III, Chair, Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee
1133 Park Avenue
New York, NY, 10128

Christopher W. Schmidt, Chair, Cromwell Dissertation Prize Advisory Subcommittee
Chicago-Kent College of Law
565 W. Adams St.
Chicago, IL 60661

Alison LaCroix
University of Chicago School of Law
1111 E. 60th St.
Chicago, IL 60637

Catherine MacMillan
University of Reading School of Law
Foxhill House
Whiteknight’s Road
Earley, RG67BA
United Kingdom

Anders Walker
Saint Louis University School of Law
100 North Tucker Blvd.
St. Louis, Missouri 63101