Friday, April 24, 2015

OAH Book Prizes

The following book prizes were awarded at the recent annual meeting of the Organization of American Historians.  

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History
Lisa Marguerite Tetrault, Carnegie Mellon University, The Myth of Seneca Falls: Memory and the Women’s Suffrage Movement, 1848-1898

Frederick Jackson Turner Award
Allyson Hobbs, Stanford University, A Chosen Exile: A History of Racial Passing in American Life

Lawrence W. Levine Award
Allyson Hobbs, Stanford University, A Chosen Exile: A History of Racial Passing in American Life

Merle Curti Award (Social History)
Cornelia H. Dayton, University of Connecticut, and Sharon V. Salinger, University of California, Irvine, Robert Love’s Warnings: Searching for Strangers in Colonial Boston

Merle Curti Award (Intellectual History)
Kyle G. Volk, University of Montana, Moral Minorities and the Making of American Democracy

Ray Allen Billington Prize
Jared Farmer, Stony Brook University, SUNY, Trees in Paradise: A California History

Avery O. Craven Award
Edward E. Baptist, Cornell University, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

James A. Rawley Prize
Daniel Berger, University of Washington, Bothell, Captive Nation: Black Prison Organizing in the Civil Rights Era

Ellis W. Hawley Prize
Alan McPherson, University of Oklahoma, The Invaded: How Latin Americans and Their Allies Fought and Ended U.S. Occupations

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award
N. D. B. Connolly, Johns Hopkins University, A World More Concrete: Real Estate and the Remaking of Jim Crow South Florida

Darlene Clark Hine Award
Karsonya Wise Whitehead, Loyola University Maryland, Notes from a Colored Girl: The Civil War Pocket Diaries of Emilie Frances Davis

David Montgomery Award
Chantal Norrgard, Independent Scholar, Seasons of Change: Labor, Treaty Rights, and Ojibwe Nationhood

In addition, the Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award went to Thomas Bender, New York University, and The Late Michael B. Katz, University of Pennsylvania.  The Lerner-Scott Prize
Jessica Wilkerson, University of Mississippi, for “Where Movements Meet: From the War on Poverty to Grassroots Feminism in the Appalachian South,” (Ph.D. diss., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2014).  The Willi Paul Adams Award went to Jürgen Martschukat, Erfurt University.  The Louis Pelzer Memorial Award went to Christopher M. Florio, Princeton University.  And the Binkley-Stephenson Award went to James D. Rice, State University of New York at Plattsburgh, “Bacon’s Rebellion in Indian Country,” Journal of American History 101 (December 2014).  The Friend of History Award went to Colin G. Campbell, Chairman Emeritus, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.

Hat tip: Process