Thursday, April 12, 2018

Cromwell Book Prize Call for Nominations:

We have the following announcement, about the upcoming nomination deadline for the Cromwell Book Prize:
The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation awards annually a $5,000 book prize for excellence in scholarship in the field of American Legal History by an early career scholar.  The prize is designed to recognize and promote new work in the field by graduate students, law students, post-doctoral fellows and faculty not yet tenured.  The work may be in any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies, but scholarship in the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference.  The prize is limited to a first book, wholly or primarily written while the author was untenured.  The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation awards the prize on the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History. The Committee will consider books bearing a copyright date of 2017. The Committee shall consider a book in the year of its copyright date or of its actual publication. However, no book shall be considered for the prize more than once.

To nominate a book, please send copies of it and the curriculum vitae of its author to John D, Gordan, III, Chair of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee, and to each member of the Cromwell Book Prize Advisory Committee with a postmark no later than May 30, 2018.

John D. Gordan, III
Secretary of the Cromwell Foundation
1133 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10128

Prof. Sophia Z. Lee, Chair
Professor of Law and History, Deputy Dean
University of Pennsylvania Law School
3501 Sansom St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Prof. Felice Batlan
130 South Canal Street, Unit 9Q
Chicago, Il. 60606

Prof. Jonathan Levy
1126 E. 59th Street
Department of History
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL 60637

Prof. Thomas Mackey
101 Gottschalk Hall
Department of History
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY 40292

Past winners here.