Tuesday, April 10, 2018

John Phillip Reid Book Award

John Phillip Reid (NYU)
[We have the following announcement.]

Named for John Phillip Reid, the prolific legal historian and founding member of the American Society for Legal History, and made possible by the generous contributions of his friends and colleagues, the John Phillip Reid Book Award is an annual award for the best monograph by a mid-career or senior scholar, published in English in any of the fields defined broadly as Anglo-American legal history, with a preference for work that falls within Reid’s own interests in seventeenth- through nineteenth-century Anglo-America and Native American law. The award is given on the recommendation of the Society’s Committee on the John Phillip Reid Book Award. [First books, written wholly or primarily while the author was untenured, should be sent to the Cromwell Book Prize committee of the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation. The Reid Award and the Cromwell Book Prize are mutually exclusive.]

For the 2018 prize, the Reid Award Committee will accept nominations from authors, presses, or anyone else, of any book that bears a copyright date in 2017. Nominations for the Reid Award should be submitted by June 15, 2018, by sending a curriculum vitae of the author and one copy of the book to each member of the committee:

Prof. Richard J. Ross (Chair)
College of Law and Department of History
University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)
504 E. Pennsylvania Avenue
Champaign, Illinois 61820

Prof. Deborah Rosen
Department of History
Ramer History House
Lafayette College
718 Sullivan Road
Easton, PA 18042

Prof. Susan Carle
5605 Wilson Lane
Bethesda, MD 20814

Prof. Laura Edwards
221 Stable Rd.
Carrboro, NC 27510

Prof. Christian McMillen
1526 Rutledge Avenue
Charlottesville, VA 22903