Monday, May 13, 2013

Cromwell Prize for Dissertations Completed in 2012

The William Nelson Cromwell Foundation has generously funded a dissertation prize of $2,500 for the year 2013. The winning dissertation may focus on any area of American legal history, including constitutional and comparative studies, but topics dealing with the colonial and early national periods will receive some preference. Anyone who received a Ph.D. in 2012 will be eligible for this year's prize. The Foundation awards the prize on the recommendation of the Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee of the American Society for Legal History.

To be considered for this year's prize, please send one hard-copy to John D. Gordan, III, Chair, Cromwell Prize Advisory Committee, 1133 Park Avenue, New York, NY, 10128, and to each of the following members of the subcommittee for the dissertation prize with a postmark no later than May 31, 2013:

Christian G. Fritz, Chair, Cromwell Dissertation Prize Advisory Subcommittee
Professor of Law
University of New Mexico
School of Law
1117 Stanford NE
MSC 11 6070
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

Joanna L. Grisinger, Senior Lecturer, Legal Studies Program,
Center for Legal Studies
1-111 Crowe Hall
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL 60208

Dr. Maeva Marcus, Director
Institute for Constitutional History
The New York Historical Society and
The George Washington University Law School
2000 H Street NW
Washington DC 20052

Michael Ross, Associate Professor
Department of History
University of Maryland
2115 Francis Scott Key
College Park, MD 20742