Sunday, April 22, 2012

OAH Prizes to Brown-Nagin, Mayeri, Willrich, and others

It has been a banner year for legal history at the Organization of American Historians annual meeting, with 2012 book, article and dissertation prizes going to legal history luminaries Tomiko Brown-Nagin, Serena Mayeri, Michael Willrich, and others. Hat tip to HNN.  Here are the prizes.

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award: Tomiko Brown-Nagin, University of Virginia. Courage to Dissent: Atlanta and the Long History of the Civil Rights Movement

Lawrence W. Levine Award: Michael Willrich, Brandeis University. Pox: An American History

Darlene Clark Hine Award: Serena Mayeri, University of Pennsylvania Law School. Reasoning from Race: Feminism, Law, and the Civil Rights Revolution

Merle Curti Award: Susan J. Pearson, Northwestern University. The Rights of the Defenseless: Protecting Animals and Children in Gilded Age America

Richard W. Leopold Prize: William A. Dobak, U.S. Army Center of Military History (retired). Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1877

Lerner-Scott Prize: Katherine Turk, University of Chicago. "Equality on Trial: Women and Work in the Age of Title VII" (best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women's history)

Louis Pelzer Memorial Award: Hidetaka Hirota, Boston College. "The Moment of Transition: State Officials, the Federal Government, and the Formation of American Immigration Policy." (Scheduled to appear in the March 2013 Journal of American History)

Binkley-Stephenson Award: Kevin J. Mumford, University of Iowa. "The Trouble with Gay Rights: Race and the Politics of Sexual Orientation in Philadelphia, 1969-1982 (best article in Journal of American history)

The full list of awards given out at this year's annual meeting is here. Warm congratulations to all!