Monday, April 30, 2007

Legal Historian Herb Hovenkamp elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Herbert Hovenkamp is in the 2007 Class of Fellows elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Hat tip to Brian Leiter. Herb was my very generous colleague at my first job at the University of Iowa. It is always so great when honors like this come to nice people.

Herb is distinguished in two fields: legal history and antitrust. He holds the Ben and Dorothy Willie Chair at Iowa. His legal history works include Enterprise and American Law (Harvard University Press, 1991), which was awarded the Littleton-Griswold Prize by the American Historical Association.

Others who work in legal history who are members of the Academy include:

Law school-based scholars:

Currie, David P., University of Chicago
Friedman, Lawrence M., Stanford Law School
Helmholz, Richard H., University of Chicago Law School
Horwitz, Morton J., Harvard Law School
Reid, John, New York University School of Law
Scheiber, Harry N., Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California, Berkeley
Tushnet, Mark V., Harvard Law School
White, G. Edward, University of Virginia

History Department-based scholars:

Kerber, Linda Kaufman, University of Iowa
Rakove, Jack N., Stanford University