Tuesday, April 3, 2007

Mayeri and others Honored with Prizes at OAH meeting

Serena Mayeri, University of Pennsylvania Law School, and others with legal history-related work were honored with prizes at the annual meeting of the Organization of American Historians. Mayeri was awarded the Lerner-Scott Dissertation Prize for "Reasoning from Race: The Civil Rights Paradigm and American Legal Feminism, 1960-1979." The Lerner-Scott prize recognizes the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women's history. The prize is named for Gerda Lerner and Anne Firor Scott, both pioneers in women's history and past presidents of the Organization of American Historians.

The 2007 awards pamplet, with all the details, appears not to be on-line yet, but this years awards, descriptions of prizes and information about how to apply for next year, can be found by clicking on individual prizes, here. Awards of particular interest to legal historians include:


Avery O. Craven Award
Mark Elliott, Wagner College, Color-Blind Justice: Albion Tourgée and the Quest for Racial Equality from the Civil War to Plessy v. Ferguson (Oxford University Press)

Ellis W. Hawley Prize
Marie Gottschalk, University of Pennsylvania, The Prison and the Gallows: The Politics of Mass Incarceration in America (Cambridge University Press)

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award
Thomas F. Jackson, University of North Carolina Greensboro, From Civil Rights to Human Rights: Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Struggle for Economic Justice (University of Pennsylvania Press)

James A. Rawley Prize
Paul A. Kramer, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, The Blood of Government: Race, Empire, the United States, and the Phillippines (The University of North Carolina Press)

Frederick Jackson Turner Award
Ned Blackhawk, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Violence over the Land: Indians and Empires in the Early American West (Harvard University Press).

Honorable Mention: Aaron Sachs, Cornell University, The Humboldt Current: Nineteenth-Century Exploration and the Roots of American Environmentalism (Viking).


Louis Pelzer Memorial Award (Graduate student essay competition. The winning essay will be published in the Journal of American History.)
Andrew W. Kahrl, Indiana University, "'Why the Police at No. 4 'Get Busy' When They Hear the Whistle of the 'Razor Beach' Boat': Steamboat Excursions, Pleasure Resorts, and the Emergence of Segregation Culture on the Potomac River, 1890-1920" (forthcoming)

OAH/IEHS John Higham Travel Grants
Maddalena Marinari, University of Kansas, "Toward a New Era: World War II and the Fight Against Immigration Restriction"
Eric R. Schlereth, Brandeis University, "Creating a Disenchanted Republic: American Political Independence and the Problem of Religion"
Stephen Seng-hua Mak, Northwestern University, "The Other Internment: The United States, Latin America and 'Enemy Aliens' During the Second World War"
For the complete list of awards, click here.